Strips

image
painting: Winslow Homer

I stand upon the life raft of my divorce  –
A mast with no wind left in my sails.
Fleeing the destruction of our creation,
My only passenger, the guilt of my betrayal.

Skin on skin, the thinnest line of seperation.
We travelled,  journey joined, but not together.
The acid of regret became our passage
And burned the strips we tore, to fall and float wherever.

I left you drowning as I floated to be grounded.
My survival had no room for wrong or right.
I closed my eyes to faith and saw a new horizon…
Blue and cream and green and blue and light.

I looked back and saw with clear perspective,
Our entanglement had strangled all our dreams.
I watched you find your feet, and a new direction,
While I was still tied up in knots of loss and grief

© Giddybird

7 thoughts on “Strips

  1. This is excellent, really excellent. Absolute congrats.

    “I left you drowning as I floated to be grounded.
    My survival had no room for wrong or right.
    I closed my eyes to blind faith and saw a new horizon…
    Blue and cream and green and blue and light.”

    I can totally feel this – and then the last lines. Yup, totally feel this.

Leave a Reply

